Nuneaton & Bedworth Lions Club's Citizen of the Year Awards - Results

In 2009 Bedworth Lions launched its Citizen of the Year Award.
To recognise at least one person each year, who has give outstanding service,
to the community of Bedworth & surrounding environs, in the Bedworth lions Club area of benefit.
The prize consists of an annual trophy, certificate and cash prize to a local good cause of the winners choice.

John Ison is our 2021 winner of the Citizen of the Year Award.
John's award was made for his many facetted community activities touching the lives of many Bedworth people and indeed animals.  John along With his team of volunteers has helped many during the COVID crisis and beyond.
Jean Smith is our 2019 and 10th deserving winner of the Bedworth Lions Club Citizen of the Year Award.
Jean's award was made for her tireless work with Bedworth Girls Brigade.
During her 60 years with the Brigade Jean has been an inspiration to several generations of Girls Brigade members.
David Woodward Scout Leader of 1st Bedworth Scouts is our 2017 Winner.
His award made for his countless dedicated years in Scouting, and his 30 years as Scout Group Leader. David spends all of his free time either planning & organising scouting events events, or still taking part in the physical activity including proper camping under canvas. Davis helps Bedworth lions with our Bonfire & Christmas sleigh.
Clive Stock is our 2016 worthy Winner.
His award has been made for his sterling work with Bedworth Amateur Show Society, and his leadership in restoring the Old School Community Centre in School Lane Exhall, a breathtaking achievement. Also for the annual assistance Both Clive & Sue Stock give with Christmas sleigh.
Joy Jones organiser of the Bedworth Poppy Appeal is our 2015 Winner.
Her award has been made for her selfless dedication in organising the poppy appeal in Bedworth for The British Legion. Not just a one day event for Armistice Day, this is a real tour de force making sure the Poppy appeal is successful each year.

Susan Stock of Bedworth is the winner of the 2014 Citizen of the year award.
Her work in the community includes, over 25 years with St. John Ambulance, her longstanding work with the Bedworth Amateur Show Society, The Attleborough over 50's Club, and her help, along with husband Clive, for the past 15 years with the lions Christmas sleigh.
Envoy John Vale of The Salvation Army was given this award in 2013. His award for his humanitarian work with the citizens of the town in need of aid & comfort.
Lynda Burton, some would call her 'Mrs. Bedworth'. Always promoting the town, her award was for her longstanding work with The Old meeting House Bedworth. Received her award in 2012
In 2011 Dennis Bates receives his award for his outstanding work for many years with the young people of the Piston Ring Motorcycle Display Team.
James Jackson was our Citizen of the Year in 2010, for his magnificent work, opening up the world of gardening to the less able through the Newdigate Allotment Association.
The first recipient of the Award in 2009, Mary Slack,(left) for her steadfast work with the Bedworth Heath Community Centre over many decades.

Thank You Menu
Home Page